TIPITAKA “The Three Baskets”

[This page is currently under construction. Please visit us again soon for more updates.]

The Tipitaka or Pali canon is the collection of the primary texts of early Buddhism which form the doctrinal foundation of Theravada Buddhism. The 3 divisions of the Tipitaka are:

1. Vinaya Pitaka, “The Basket of Discipline”

Ptmk: Patimokkha Sutta (or Matika): 227 monks’ rules; 311 nuns’ rules.

SuVbh: Sutta Vibhanga: commentary on the Patimokkha.

Khdhk: Khandhaka:

Mv: Mahavagga (10 khandhakas)

Cv:  Cullavagga (12 khandhakas): rituals and history.

Parv:  Parivara: systematic legal survey (late work, Sri Lanka)


2. Sutta Pitaka, “The Basket of Discourses”

Collections of teachings moral virtues, meditation and wisdom by the Buddha and his early disciples. Namely:

  • KHUDDAKA NIKAYA: “Collection of Little Texts”, 15 separate miscellaneous texts, many in verse form, which contain both some of the earliest and latest material in the Canon.


3. Abhidhamma Pitaka: “The Basket of Topic Relating to Dhamma”

Fine-grained analysis of experience, which seeks to systematise Sutta teachings, expressing them in psychologically and philosophical exact language.

counter for wordpress

2 thoughts on “TIPITAKA “The Three Baskets”

  1. Johnnie Aerts

    I do accept as true with all the concepts you’ve introduced for your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. Could you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Comments are closed.